I love makeup, but one of the most difficult challenges that I have are finding the “right” type of makeup for my eyes. I have “typical asian” eyes- by that, I mean, I have NO eye lid, my eyes are slanted, and when I smile, they are small. This is called “mono lids” and not having a crease makes a big difference in determining “how” to apply makeup , what type of liners to use, the “right” colors, techniques and tools to use to achieve beautiful eye makeup. Don’t get me wrong- I love my Asian eyes and I embrace it. It’s just finding the best way to enhance my features without making it look like a total mess.

After years of playing around with different makeup, I’ve found a couple of tips which will definitely help you out.

1. Pick the right eye shadow colors

Neutral colors are ideal for your eyes. Stick with brown, gold, peach, and pink colors.

When you are doing the smoky eye look, blend just at the outer corners of your eyes and use dark brown. If you do want to add in black for a dramatic look, in small circular brush strokes, lightly apply it only in the outer corner.

2. Apply eyeliner

Use eyeliner. I typically like to use liquid eyeliner on the top and on the bottom, I use mac’s liquid last. And it does last in the heat or if you are out the whole night and you don’t want it to smudge. It will stay on there . Only line 2/3 of the lash line from outside corner to inside.

3. False Lashes- Hell yeah!

Nothing makes eyes more attractive than full, flirty eyelashes. Unfortunately for us Asian girls, ours are often thin, short and straight. That’s why it is essential to play them up.

Curling our eyelashes is very important. The absolute best eyelash curler I’ve ever owned is  Shu Uemura eyelash curler. Make sure your lashes are bare. Open curler and clamp as close to the roots as you can, and hold for a few seconds. This will take your straight lashes into a feather-like bend. Then, with your false lashes, glue it close to your lash line. Make sure you use mascara to engage your real lashes with the falsies.

Most people apply eye makeup from the inside out. For Asians, it is actually better to apply eye makeup from the outside in, especially with liners and eye shadow. This trick will make eyes appear larger. Finish off with some sexy lip gloss and smile.

Bottom line: Instead of feeling discouraged that you have monolids, embrace what God gave you and enhance the beauty you already have. Not everyone can have Kim Kardashian’s  gorgeous eyes, but remember, you are beautiful no matter what.  Play with what you’ve got and if you have any cool interesting tips, please email them to me and I will add it in a future post.

Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

